Buongiorno, Firenze!

europe, florence, italy, life, travel

IMG_9496

After more than thirty hours of travel (planes, trains, and transit), Florence sure delivers a great payoff. Like Rome and Venice, Florence is like a city-museum. Immediately after I stepped out of the train station, I was already greeted with monuments and beautiful Tuscan architecture and those cute umbrella trees like in the above photo.

IMG_9437

I have been to Florence twice before, but always for too short a time and always just in the Centro Storico area. I can’t tell you how freakin’ excited I am to be able to live here for a year or two; to be able to walk in the footsteps of the Medicis and all the Renaissance greats (Da Vinci, Botticelli, Michelangelo, Rafael, Caravaggio–to name a few! Oh, and Machiavelli too.) I may have also been extra-pumped-up from watching Da Vinci’s Demons before coming here. It’s fictional and at times ludicrous, but fun to watch all the same. Haha.

IMG_9497

My first few days will be mostly about getting paperwork done, looking for supermarkets and banks and whatnot (online research is oddly insufficient). I Google-mapped some supermarkets near my hotel, but upon visiting them, found them closed for the day (and it was barely 5pm!) That’s European operating hours for you.

IMG_9443 IMG_9462 IMG_9478

On another note, my meals while on the road (and in between flights/train rides) were strangely alike. I must have had at least four or five coffees all throughout. Wonder if it’ll help with the jetlag.

2 thoughts on “Buongiorno, Firenze!

  1. Try going back to the stores in the evening. I know many of the supermarkets in Spain would close for a siesta in the afternoon, though it always seemed to last longer than I thought that it ought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

