Food: Siena, Italy

europe, food, italy, siena

IMG_3730

Siena, Italy. September 2014.

On a free day before school started, I decided to go back to Siena to give myself some more time to wander around than I had the last time I was here, back in 2010. I had done some Googling on the bus en route to Siena, looking for affordable places to try. One of the names that seemed to pop up in a lot of the search results was La Prosciutteria, which is a few minutes’ walk away from the Piazza del Campo (the shell-shaped horse-racing piazza).

IMG_2678

It’s a tiny place on a corner, with stairs leading down to what I presume is a larger dining area. I didn’t see that many people around, but the servers behind the counter seemed to be working on a large, complicated order and so I waited for a few minutes while they finished up so they could take my order.

Disappointingly, that never happened. I can understand a certain amount of wait time especially if the place is packed and the food is really good. But I had been standing in front of the order counter for like twenty minutes with nary an attempt to apologize for making me wait, not even an offer of a drink or to take my order. After that, I was feeling pissed off and didn’t feel like it was worth waiting for any longer, so I left.

IMG_3781

Luckily, I found another place via Google, with altogether a much more charming and picturesque façade: Gino Cacino.

IMG_3782

The flowers sold it for me :))

IMG_2724

I just had to order the one with “elixir” in the description, although a lot of the combinations sounded good. Price-wise, it was not too bad, and there weren’t too many people (maybe because I was eating lunch during mid-afternoon), so I was able to get a table for myself.

IMG_3783

Inside, it’s a deli. Nothing too fancy. They also have a little section selling Barilla and other foodstuffs.

IMG_3784

IMG_3785

The sandwich is not bad, although personally I’m not the hugest fan of hard breads–maybe because I have weak teeth haha. I think I cracked a tooth on that bread! I would have liked it better on foccacia or something.

IMG_3724

And it was hot, hot summer, so Grom gelato was a nice reprieve!

One thought on “Food: Siena, Italy

Leave a Reply

